….Jamaica, Jamaica, Jamaica land I……

Standard

Patriotism is defined as devoted love, support and defense of one’s country; national loyalty, but what is the basis for patriotism?

I was born in a particular country, therefore I am obligated to devote my love and support to her?

Jamaica is the land of my birth, I had absolutely no control over that. I grew up pledging my undying love and support for this isle of the indies, but became critical as an adult after realizing I was relegated to being a third-class world citizen because I am Jamaican.

I contrasted what Jamaica offered to me with what I was denied and this made it more difficult to accept the idea of patriotism.

I don’t believe in obligated love, it is like a duty and thus loses its true essence.

I do not love my mother because she gave birth to me, I love her because she is a great human being who gave of herself unselfishly to me and others. I don’t think I should love Jamaica, just because…, that is simply ridiculous. I must admit that Jamaica is possible one of the most beautiful place on earth, this beauty is used well in hiding the hideous underbelly of her culture…and it is this that makes it hard for me to be patriotic.

Jamaica is my home, my family is there, happy memories of my childhood is intrinsically linked to Jamaica. I miss her because she is familiar, not because she is different from any other country; Dubai buy sand and build beach, South America has majestic mountains that helps to keep the sky above us and reggae, which originated in Jamaica, has more significance in Europe than it does in the Caribbean isle.

Lately people who claim particular personality traits as indigenous to Jamaicans annoy me. When you are not exposed to other cultures it is easy to assume that Jamaicans r the only ones who say particular things, or do things in a  specific way, but then you meet others from various cultures and realize people are people, and these traits exist all over the world….what do you do then? I think nationalist should focus on celebrating humanism and then the world would be a better place.

Yet with all this, I find it easy to sell Jamaica as a great destination to visit and I will quickly defend her honour if people speak ill of her….but I am not blindly devoted in love and support. It may be possible that I am harping on semantics, I may need another word to explain how I truly feel, but as it is right now, patriotic is not the word and it r the truth.

One thought on “….Jamaica, Jamaica, Jamaica land I……

Leave a Reply

